How to Save a Life

Step one: Find a blood drive.

Step two: Go to the blood drive.

Step three: Give blood & save a life.

Never realized just how easy it could be.  I never had any desire to give blood, ever.  But now that my mom has Leukemia, I not only felt the desire, but an obligation to do so.  I’ve been there firsthand when she’s received platelets from someone who so generously did just as I have, and many others did today at Otterbein.  I was so surprised to see how many students give blood, it’s such a great thing.

The Red Cross is always in need of blood, 5 million patients need blood every year in the U.S. alone.  It can save a person’s life in so many situations, just one pint of blood could potentially save three lives.  Every 2 seconds a person is in need of a blood transfusion.  A fact I found to be extremely ironic, is that blood platelets, extremely important for cancer patients, only have a shelf life of 5 days.  So who knows?!  My mom might even receive some of my platelets, regardless, I’ll be helping someone very soon.

The Red Cross hosts over 200,000 blood drives every year, and I strongly encourage people to go out and donate.  All I know, is that the people who need the blood, have gone through much worse than a little needle prick.    I’m so glad that I was able to give blood, and I can’t wait to donate again.

P.S. An update on my mom for those of you who do not have her on facebook:  She is doing pretty well, just tired and ready to come home!  Still unsure about the date of the cord blood transplant.  Keep praying ❤

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

